Feel Good Story Of The Day: Iraq Vet Takes Down Would-Be Robber, MMA Style

Posted on June 1, 2012

0



Michigan (The Gaslamp Post) – “Are you being robbed right now?” mouthed silently a customer to the clerk on the other side of the counter.  When the clerk mouthed back, “yeah,” the store’s regular customer snatched the guy next to him with lightening speed, and fed him to the floor.

Brandon Slanger, 38, sacked by Army vet after allegedly attempting to rob a store.

Police say that Brandon Slanger, 38, described as an “habitual offender,” entered Spike and Mike’s party store at around 10:00 am, on the morning of March 22nd, thinking he was going to rob it.  He hadn’t counted on running into Zach Thome, mix-martial artist, former US Army soldier, and Iraq war veteran.

According to Fox17-TV, Slanger entered the store and approached the clerk.  He claimed he had a gun in his pocket and demanded money from the register.  “He (the suspect) said, ‘give me the money or I’m going to shoot you,” said the store’s owner, who was translating for the clerk.  “I have a gun in my pocket. I’m going to shoot you, give me the money.”‘

Once a struggle ensued, Mr. Thome approached the counter, grabbed the would-be robber, and went to work on him, MMA style.  “It’s kind of my hometown.  I live right next to the place, you know, I’m in there everyday,” said Thome.  “I think if it was the other way around, if I worked there and the guy at the register was there, he would have done the same thing.”

Surveillence image of Thome grabbing ahold of Slanger. Image Fox 17-TV

Thome, who is also a college student, took control of Slanger, and maintained him in a hold until police arrived.  Slanger was charged with assault with intent to commit an armed robbery.

(h/t:  MyFox17)