Having Children IS A Reason To Have A Gun In The House! Here’s Why…

Posted on October 22, 2012

4



Oklahoma (The Gaslamp Post) – There is always this talk about the dangers of having a firearm in the home when children are present.  While accidents can and do happen, most American firearm owners take the necessary precautions when there are little ones.

When a situation arises which would warrant the need to use one, it’s better to have access to one than not to.

Case in point; a 12-year-old girl who was home alone had the unfortunate experience of encountering a man who had broken into her family’s home and cornered her.

Last week, Kendra St. Clair, 12, of Calera was home alone when she heard the doorbell ring.  After she didn’t answer the door, she heard what she described as banging, followed by the sound of breaking glass, coming from the back door of her family’s home.  She quickly grabbed the phone and placed a phone call to her soon-to-be terrified mother.

Her mother Debra, told her to go to her closet and get her .40 cal Glock, call 911, and hide in the closet.  Kendra ran to the bathroom, got into the closet, and got down.

Kendra St.Clair, hit her assailant from behind a closed door on her first time using a firearm, and officially the most dangerous 12-year-old in the United States.

The exchange between young Miss Kendra and the 911 operator, according to ABC News, is as follows:

Kendra: “I’m at my house. I’m in my closet. And I ran away from (inaudible) someone’s trying to get into my house and I do not know who they are.”

Dispatcher: “Ok I have a deputy en route, I want you to stay on the phone with me. Ok?”

Kendra: “Ok. Please. I think they are in the house.”

She then reportedly heard the bathroom fan turn on, indicating that someone had flipped the switch and the intruder was within feet of her.

Kendra: “Please help me. Please.”

Dispatcher: “Alright, alright. I understand. Do you still have your mom’s gun there?”

Kendra: “Yes I do. I have it in my hand.”

Young Kendra recalled seeing the door knob turn – and then all at once she unleashed HELL.  Although she had never fired a gun in her short life, she sent Armageddon through the door, into and out of her assailant, and on through the wall behind him.

The bullet hole in the wall after it had traveled through the door and through a person. Something tells me that this isn’t a hollow-point household.

Kendra heard the intruder leave the room and she exited the closet.  She reportedly saw a man who had more than likely soiled himself, struggling to exit her home.  Deputies located and arrested the suspect who had been shot in the arm, a short distance from the home.

“He had worked his way all the way through the house and into the bathroom,” said Bryan County Under sheriff Ken Golden. “And from what we understand, he was turning the doorknob when she fired through the door.  She did everything she was supposed to do and as a last resort, she did what she had to do to protect herself.”

“I think that she did something that most grown-ups wouldn’t be able to do in a frightening situation,” said her mother, Debra St. Clair.  “I think she handled herself amazingly.”

Arrested: Stacey Jones, 32, of Texarkana. Nothing says you suck at life like a 12-year-old girl shooting you after you break into her house.

The intruder, 32-year-old Stacey Jones (who will be going to prison with a name like “Stacey”) was taken to the hospital for treatment and relased to police.  He has been charged with first degree burglary and is reportedly held on $250,000 bond.

“I see a  lot of girls on TV that get their house broken into and they turn up missing and just knowing that that could have happened to me,” said Kendra. “I was scared.”

“I thank God that Kendra was able to take care of her business the way she did. I don’t know if I was in that position that I’d have been able to do the things that she’s done,” said her mother.

“I think God was definitely looking down on us yesterday and taking care of my girl.”

Police say that no charges will be filed.