Feel Good Story Of The Day: Mom Home Alone With Child Fires On 3 Masked Armed Intruders, Puts One In The Hospital!

Posted on February 5, 2013

0



Texas (The Gaslamp Post) – A mother and her 6-year-old son are safe tonight after a very close call late last month with masked intruders who entered her home with a gun.  The three masked men made it out, but not before the mother was able to shoot one of them.  That man has reportedly been arrested.

The mother, identified only as “Erin” was at home putting her son to bed on January 25, 2013 when she heard a loud crash from somewhere in her home.  She then reportedly threw the blankets over her child, placed a quick phone call to her neighbor, and ran for the living room to let her dogs out.

Upon entering her living room she encountered 3 masked men, one of whom which was pointing a gun at her.

Reader Submission - This Is How Gun Control Turns Law Abiding Citizens Into Criminals; It Already Happened!

“When I saw three of them, I knew I was in a lot of trouble. I said, ‘The TV is the most expensive thing I own. You could take that through the front door and go with it,’ and they said, ‘No, the money, the money,'” said Erin.

She watched as the masked intruders made their way towards her son’s bedroom and knew she needed to distract them in order to retrieve her firearm.  Erin was able to get their attention by telling them where she supposedly hid her money.

“Somehow the way it happened, as they were going down the hallway, I told them sometimes I keep money under the mattress, which is not true. But I needed to get to where my gun was,” she said.

The men followed her to her bedroom.

“I was pretending to move the mattress. It’s really heavy, so I was trying to move their attention to the mattress because they wouldn’t take their eyes off of me. I needed a split second for them to take their eyes off of me. I said, ‘It might be under here.’ They started talking to each other in Spanish and then a roll of duct tape came out,” said Erin.

Erin told KPRC-TV that she prayed as she struggled with the mattress and then all at once her dogs came running into her bedroom, barking.

12 A troublemaker and a villain,
    who goes about with a corrupt mouth,
13     who winks maliciously with his eye,
    signals with his feet
    and motions with his fingers,
14     who plots evil with deceit in his heart—
    he always stirs up conflict.
15 Therefore disaster will overtake him in an instant;
    he will suddenly be destroyed—without remedy.

Proverbs 6:12-15

In an instant Erin grabbed her hidden handgun, chambered a round, and fired – striking one of the intruders in the torso.  He and another of the intruders immediately fled her home while the third lunged at her.

“We wrestled around in my bedroom and he came after me. I had my gun like this. He kneed me in the face. He just jerked the gun right out of my hand and took off,” she said.

Erin ran for her son, grabbed her other handgun, and called 911.  According to KPCR-TV, her neighbor Mitch Sanders, arrived immediately after that, armed with a shotgun.  He found Erin and her son safe in the home and reportedly grabbed them and brought them back to his home.

“It was my neighbor. She and her son were home and [said] that men were in her home or were in her home and to get there as fast as I can,” said Mitch Sanders.

“She kind of met in the hallway. I literally wrapped my arms around both of them and got them back here as fast as possible,” said Sanders.

“The story here is the mother, how she handled herself and how she protected her son. She’s pretty somber, but also very thankful something bad didn’t happen to her and her son,” said Sanders.

Authorities arrested a man 2 days later, who had reportedly showed up to a local hospital with a gunshot wound to the stomach.  The Montgomery County Sheriff arrested 27-year-old Adrian Granados-Yepez in connection with the home invasion.  The investigation is ongoing.

“Protecting yourself goes into our Second Amendment, the right to bear arms. And thousands of people died to give me the right that saved my life,” said Erin.

(h/t:  Click2Houston)