Elderly Woman Confronts, Shoots Intruder. Robbed But Is Getting Her Stuff Back.

Posted on February 10, 2013

0



Tennessee (The Gaslamp Post) – An elderly woman who had been the victim of robbery before in the past had vowed to shoot anyone who tried it again.  “I told different people if I ever catch them, I mean to kill them,” said 86-year-old Bull Gap homeowner Louise Howard.

On February 1, 2013, Louise Howard almost made good on that promise when she came face-to-face with an intruder in her home.

On Friday afternoon she was forced to do that. Howard said a young woman broke the glass on her door and forced her way inside. “I was in shock. I didn’t know what she was going to do to me!” Howard said.

As soon as it happened, Howard grabbed her gun and went after the burglar.  The culprit now identified as 36-year-old Molena Dowell tried to then wrestle the gun away from the elderly woman, but unfortunately it didn’t turn out the way she thought it would.

Molena Nichole Dowell

Admitted burglar: Molena Nichole Dowell, 36.

Dowell left nail marks in Howard’s hands as she attempted to strip the gun away from her intended victim.

“She stuck a fingernail in there,” said Howard. “She moved her hands, sort of released me a bit. I moved over like that, and I was going to shoot her in the stomach, but she took her knee and hit my elbow.”

To her credit, the elderly Howard was able to get a shot off, striking her attacker before she reportedly fled. In her haste, she was able to grab Howard’s pocketbook which contained all of her valuables.

Sheriff Ronnie Lawson told us Howard was in her rights to use her gun for protection.

“All indications [were] the intruder, the female, has a wrench. It was what she used to break the window of the door so she could’ve defended herself,” Sheriff Lawson explained.

Howard said she is a repeat victim of crime, “I decided I would put all of my valuables in my pocketbook, and they would be with me wherever I went and nobody would get it,” she said.

“I was more scared for my cat than I was for me, because I guess I’d give my life that cat I love him so,” said Howard.

The next day one of Howard’s rings turned up in nearby Morristown where it was sold to a pawnshop.  That pawn led police right to Dowell.

bull gap morristown tn

Dowell reportedly admitted to police that she broke into Howard’s home and stole her valuables.  She also reportedly had a wound on her right arm police say is consistent with a bullet graze.

Police arrested Dowell and charged her with aggravated robbery, burglary and theft of property over $500.

Howard says she’s happy to learn she’ll get her ring back, but hopes it’s not the only item returned.

“I want my gun back!” she emphasized. She hopes others will learn from her story.

“I hope they all get a gun and keep it in bed under the pillow, like I do.”

(h/t:  Drudge Report)

Similar or related stories:  https://gaslamppost.wordpress.com/2012/09/12/bump-method-fails-would-be-car-jackers-that-lady-had-a-gun/

https://gaslamppost.wordpress.com/2012/05/20/feel-good-story-of-the-day-gun-toting-pastor-shoots-intruder-trying-to-break-into-his-home/

https://gaslamppost.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/dont-mess-with-old-people-63-year-old-man-throws-indruder-out-by-his-collar/

https://gaslamppost.wordpress.com/2012/01/25/feel-good-story-of-the-day-gun-totin-granny-held-suspect-at-gunpoint-until-police-arrived/